Fundamental Human Rights

The Right to a Sustainable Future [Filtered & blocked by Google!]

Facebook Bootjack Tactics: Breaching the Right to Privacy

Posted by terres on December 13, 2007

Here’s another of Facebook’s bootjack tactics employed by their affiliates (presumably in a desperate attempt to keep the fad alive for a few more days!)

The following message was sent to my colleague today:

Date: Wed, 12 Dec 2007 22:32:58 -0600
From: Name and contact email removed
Subject: [ccomy] Apologies
To: My Colleague’s email address
CC: About 700 other email addresses (whose owners’ privacy was breached) and 4 Yahoogroups

Message: If you found it strange that you were invited to join Facebook by me yesterday (and you may not even have an idea of who I am), my apologies – it was an accident. I hope it didn’t come off as unprofessional or strange.

I accidently clicked the ‘invite all contacts’ feature, and there was no taking it back. I think Facebook should revise this feature so this doesn’t happen again.

Happy Holidays.


To which My colleague promptly responded (reply to everyone):

“Facebook is a fad whose time has already expired! How many of you still play packman on an IBM PC with a 12-inch black & White screen?”

Name and contact email removed.
The perpetrator has apologized (again) to my colleague.
He has implored Moderator to remove his details because promoting FaceBook might jeopardize his future prospects with his current employers! [OK JR, will let you off this time, but “thread lightly, for you thread on your dreams!”]

2 Responses to “Facebook Bootjack Tactics: Breaching the Right to Privacy”

  1. Paul said

    [Message edited!]

    Paul – Your comment was disallowed by moderators because the message was tantamount to advertising on behalf of facebook.com [TERRES]

  2. terres said

    The following message was emailed to my colleague. To clarify any misunderstanding the Moderators decided to publish the message.
    =======================================================

    Good afternoon,

    I am an educator working on helping youth attain higher ed opportunities and fellow Chicagoan on the ccomy listserv. A while back I was bamboozled by one of Facebook’s very own ‘bootjack tactics’ which caused me to accidently invite over 600 people in my address book to Facebook. Seeing this as kind of a messy mistake I emailed all of these folks (and probably a few extra) as a sort of apology/disclaimer for the strange email, because I was quite embarrassed. (Admittedly, I was an idiot and forgot to bcc: my address book contacts letters a-d, which exposed a lot of people’s identities, I do feel bad about that).

    Anyhow, I remember you replied:

    “Facebook is a fad whose time has already expired! How many of you still play packman on an IBM PC with a 12-inch black & White screen?”

    Subsequently, someone who claims that they are colleagues with you published the following:
    https://rtsf.wordpress.com/2007/12/13/face-book-bootjack-tactics-breaching-the-right-to-privacy/

    This piece claims that I am an agent employed by Facebook and publishes my name as well as the organization and department that I work for. This is not true and could stifle future opportunities for me and cause me to get in trouble with my employers. Since this is a blog I have no way of contacting the author his/herself, you are the only link I have to them.

    I am hoping that: a) you know who may have authored this or are willing to find out, b) you will forgive me for the prior spam, and c) you will contact or help me contact the author of the blog to tell them that I would simply like my name removed. I would like him/her to know that I think Facebook should still be criticized for ‘bootjack tactics’ but of a different sort, since my transgressions were merely the accidental click of a real autonomous individual and not a bot or hacker.

    Thanks.


    Jesse R. Rutschman
    773.814.5260

    Success
    “To laugh often and much, to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children, to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends, to appreciate beauty, to find the best in others, to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition, to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.” -Emerson

Leave a Reply

 
